A Have A Look At A Few Of The New Recipients Of The Order Of Canada

In Finance 70 views

OTTAWA — Gov. Gen. Julie Payette introduced 125 new appointments to the Order of Canada Friday.

The honour was created in 1967 to acknowledge excellent achievement, dedication to the group and repair to the nation.

Listed below are a few of the latest recipients.


Thomas Cromwell — former Supreme Court docket justice.

Louis LeBel — former Supreme Court docket justice.

Cornelia Oberlander — panorama architect.


Sally Armstrong — journalist and filmmaker.

Francois Crepeau — legislation professor and former United Nations Particular Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Migrants.

Robert Joseph — former govt director of the Indian Residential College Survivors Society and an honourary witness to Canada’s Fact and Reconciliation Fee.

Kenneth Lum — Chinese language-Canadian artist and educator.

Lee Maracle — Indigenous creator, scholar and professor.

Terence Hedley Matthews — high-tech entrepreneur, finest identified for founding telecom firm Mitel.

William Shatner — finest identified for his function as Captain Kirk on Star Trek.

Denis Villeneuve — Academy-award nominated Quebec filmmaker.


Jann Arden — singer-songwriter.

Mark Breslin — comic and co-founder of the Yuk Yuk’s chain of comedy golf equipment.

Andree Champagne — former Progressive Conservative member of Parliament from Quebec and later Conservative senator.

Richard Dicerni — former federal and Ontario deputy minister, and Clerk to Alberta premiers Jim Prentice and Rachel Notley.

Stephanie Dixon — swimmer and winner of quite a few Paralympic medals.

Jocelyn Downie — professor with a give attention to end-of-life legislation and coverage.

Crimson Fisher — sports activities journalist identified for his protection of the Montreal Canadiens.

Curtis Harnett — Olympic bicycle owner.

Judy Illes — researcher within the subject of neuroethics.

Bruce Kirby — sailboat designer behind the favored Laser class sailboat.

Karen Rochelle Mock — former govt director of the Canadian Race Relations Basis.

Ahmet Fuad Sahin — Muslim group chief and founding member of the Worldwide Growth and Aid Basis.

Beverley Noel Salmon — Toronto’s first black feminine metropolis councillor.

Frederick Sasakamoose — first Indigenous participant within the NHL.

Bernard Sherman — founding father of pharmaceutical powerhouse Apotex.

For extra on these and different inductees, go to: http://www.gg.ca/honours.

CALGARY – Obsidian Power Ltd. and activist
Breaking Apart With Fb? It’s Tougher Than It Appears
NEW YORK — Fb’s newest privateness scandal,
Must read×